July 10, 2016

  • I Promised to Use These Pictures

    Several weeks ago we spent a day at the Richmond Zoo. When I saw JJ grab the camera, I told him I'd use his pictures in a blog post if he got some good ones and he set out to see what he could do. Of course, I had to take some of my own.

    119

    The ducks were the easiest to capture since they roamed free and had no wire or glass to shoot through.

    103

    I didn't even see the rhinos, but he got a good shot while I wasn't even looking.

    122

    Jeremy really enjoyed the giraffes who were more than glad to eat out of his hand.

    140

    Jeremy's success emboldened JJ to try the same.

    137

    Justin led the way when it came to feeding birds

    142

    while JJ tried and tried until he finally got a bird to sit on his feeding stick long enough to capture this shot.

    149

    When we visited the zoo five years ago, I took this picture,

    IMG_3923

    and the boys reposed with some persuasion.

    152

    JJ decided he was brave enough to try the sky ride over the zoo and we were glad to see his chair come back still occupied.

    156

    As we left, we came to a cage containing a dog and a cheetah who were in a friendly game of tag with a kangaroo in the next enclosure.

    159

    The dog would bark until the kangaroo began running, then the cheetah and dog would take chase. Since a fence separated the cheetah from the kangaroo, it was all in fun, but it seemed clear that the game would end quite differently if the barrier came down.

    It was a fun day for us all and now I've made good on my promise.

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment